Public Safety

The Public Safety and Fire Department provide 24 hour-a-day emergency services in fire protection, fire prevention, animal control, search & rescue (SAR), updating Emergency Measures Plan (EMP) and medical response with assistance from the CNE Public Health First Responders' Wilderness team, Cree Health Board, and Eeyou Eenou Police Force.


We also work together with Transport Canada on the Emergency Response Team (EMP) on the Eastmain River Airport. With these responsibilities, we do our best to provide these services to reduce the loss of life & property and spare the community of Eastmain from all types of hazards.

At our office, we have three full time officers, fourteen certified volunteer fire fighters with four recruits. Also, fourteen certified Forest Fire Fighters and fifteen certified First Responders for our Ambulance service.



For an emergency, immediately call the general emergency line (Police); 819-977-2911 and the appropriate emergency workers will be dispatched. For medical assistance, you can use the general emergency line or the local clinic to get the Ambulance dispatched to you; 819-977-5194.


58 Opinaca Road, P.O. Box 89

Phone 819-977-3080 ext. 222

Fax 819-977-2332

Call for email address

Director; Ivan Gilpin

Administration Office

Roger Weapenicappo - Fire Chief
Darryl Gilpin - Deputy Fire Chief
Eliza Moses - Fire Prevention Officer
Isabelle Cheezo - Administrative Assistant

Our Staff

For any emergency on water leaks, sewage backup, or drainage problem or something else to do with the Public Works Services, please call 819-977-5424 or you can contact the Director of Capital & Public Works; Derek Moses at the Band Office during working hours at 819-977-0211 ext. 315 or 819-977-5177 and the right person in charge or team will be deployed.


Cree Nation of Eastmain




76 Nouchimi St., P.O Box 90,
Eastmain, QC, J0M1W0



  • White Google Places Icon
  • 2000px-Weather-more-clouds.svg
  • measurer
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

The Cree Nation of Eastmain is open Monday through Friday from
9:00 am to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm. All administration offices are closed on
weekends and most statutory holidays. You contact us by any of the following methods...